A B A Fuseini loses Sagnarigu seat in NDC parliamentary primaries

The incumbent Member of Parliament for Sagnarigu Constituency, Alhaji A. B. A Fuseini has been defeated in the National Democratic Congress’ parliamentary primaries.

He lost in a humiliating rerun attempt to one Attah Issah who secured 801 votes against his 333 votes.

Also, the other contenders Alhasan Majeed, Dr. Hamza Bukari, and Alhaji Yakubu earned 42, 27, and 120 votes respectively.

This means Mr. Isaah will lead the party in the 2024 general elections.

The Sagnarigu Constituency was created in the 2012 general election out of the Tamale North Constituency. Alhaji Fuseini has been the Member of Parliament since.

A.B.A Fuseini accused aspirants to his seat of flouting the directive of the NDC which bars parliamentary aspirants in all constituencies with sitting NDC MPs from campaigning between March 7 and March 31, 2023.

According to him, some six persons interested in his seat have disregarded the party’s directive and are campaigning as he stays in Parliament in obedience to his party.

ABA Fuseini accused the aspirants of peddling falsehoods against him regarding his unavailability in the Constituency to constituents so as to win over their support.

“…In my constituency, six people. We have a lot of these people running their campaign meanwhile the party has given a task to fulfill here in Parliament which requires your permanent presence…Even on Saturdays and on Sundays the party will hold meetings or assign you to some task and you cannot leave it and go back to your constituency, meanwhile, people are campaigning against you, and your constituents may be saying that in the heat of this, we are not seeing our MP.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *