Absentee MPs: Parliament to vote on Privileges Committee recommendations

The Rt. Hon Speaker Bagbin has ruled that the privileges Committee’s report on the 3 absentee MPs could not be accepted as the final decision on the matter but it should be subjected of absenteeism in Parliament.

According to the Speaker, the house will have to make a final determination on the matter by voting on the recommendations of the  Privileges Committee.

Majority leader, Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu however says he disagrees with the ruling of the Speaker and has assured to file a motion to challenge same.

This means Member of Parliament for the Dome-Kwabenya Constituency, Sarah Adwoa Safo remains at post against expectations that her seat would be declared vacant.

The embattled MP and two other NPP MPs, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, MP for Assin Central, and Henry Quartey, MP for Ayawaso West, were hauled before the committee for breaching the 15-day absent rule in Parliament.

But despite several invitations, Adwoa Safo failed to honour the summons and appear before the committee.

In his opening remarks to welcome MPs from their long recess, the Speaker announced plans to rule on the matter, saying, “I will be delivering my ruling on the preliminary objection on the motion that was before us on the last day of the last meeting.”

On his part, Mr Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu urged the Speaker to make the determination in accordance with the law.

“We can only wait for the ruling, which I want to believe will be very erudite and in sync with the constitution”, he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *