Qatar 2022: Ronaldo’s penalty was a gift from referee – Otto Addo

Coach Otto Addo claims that the penalty awarded to Portugal in their 2022 World Cup Group H match against the Black Stars was a gift from referee Ismail Efalth.

In the 64th minute, Cristiano Ronaldo scored the game-winning goal after the American referee controversially gave Portugal a penalty kick.

Efalth disregarded the Ghanaian team’s protests.

Joao Felix and Raphael Leao both scored twice as the 2016 European winners prevailed in a thrilling 3-2 victory at Stadium 974 on Thursday night.

For the Black Stars, the goals came from Andre Ayew and Osman Bukari.

Otto Addo voiced his displeasure with the referee’s performance during the postgame press conference.

The official whistled for a penalty that did not exist. All of us could see that. Why? Because Ronaldo, I guess? Says Otto Addo.

“If somebody scores a goal, congratulations. But this was really a gift. A special gift from the referee.”

“I asked if I could speak to the ref and was told he’s in a meeting and it’s not possible.”

In their next match, which will take place on November 28, Ghana will compete against South Korea in an effort to revive their prospects of qualifying to the next stage of the tournament. The group stage will be completed with a match against Uruguay on December 2.

Read Previous

Qatar 2022: Fortunate Portugal claim controversial win over Ghana

Read Next

We paid for our mistakes – Andre Ayew on losing to Portugal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

WEEKLY PROGRAMME

We have exclusive TV Programmes made just for you

Interested In some specific programme updates and first hand information on our presenters?… Fill the form below