NPP Parliamentary Vetting: All five aspirants in Savannah Region cleared to contest

NPP Parliamentary Vetting: All five aspirants in Savannah Region cleared to contest

The vetting committee of the New Patriotic Party in the Savannah Region has cleared all five aspirants hoping to contest in the forthcoming parliamentary primaries for the remaining three constituencies with their incumbent Members of Parliament.

The 3-member vetting committee headed by Chris Lloyd Nii Kwei gave them the green lights after successful vetting of the aspirants at Damongo on Friday.

It is the NPP parliamentary vetting for the remaining three constituencies with incumbent MPs namely the Salaga North Constituency, the Daboya Mankarigu Constituency and the Damongo Constituency.

In grand style, the aspirants and their faithful thronged the venue of the vetting amidst drumming and dancing.

The regional chairman in his goodwill message admonished the rank and file of the party to stand united to embrace the outcome of the vetting.

He also tasked the candidates as well their faithful to eschew campaigns devoid of insults as such could lead to disturbances within the party.

The first person to be called for the day’s vetting chaired by Chris Lloyd Nii Kwe with Hajia Rabi Salifu and Dr Abdulai Mobson as
members was the MP for Salaga North Constituency Hon Abdallah Iddi.

As time wore on, the other candidates took their turns at the vetting to answer questions.

After successful vetting, some of the candidates shared their sentiments with the media.

The two incumbent MPs Alhaji Mahama Asei Seini and Abdallah Iddi both picked number one for the balloting.

On the contrast, their opponents, Samuel Yeyu Atika and Fuseini Tahiru picked number two respectively.

However, the minister for Lands and Natural Resources, Samuel Abu Jinapor, who was on a special call of duty was cleared to go unopposed in the Damongo Constituency.

The actual contest is slated for January 27th.

By: Iddrissu Hafiz | | Ghana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *