Akufo-Addo nominates 3 more justices to the Supreme Court bench

Akufo-Addo nominates 3 more justices to the Supreme Court bench

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has nominated three justices of appeal, Henry Anthony Kwofie, Yaw Asare Darko, and Richard Adjei-Frimpong, to fill vacancies left by the mandatory retirement of three former Supreme Court justices.

The three nominees are all members of the Court of Appeal. As a result, Parliament has been notified that they are being considered for nomination to the Supreme Court bench.

Former Chief Justice Kwasi Anin Yeboah, Justice Nene Abayateye Ofoe Amegatcher, and Justice Jones Victor Mawulorm Dotse are among those who have retired.

The nominations were included in a letter sent by the President to the Speaker of Parliament.

The nominees, according to the letter, are intended to replace vacancies and assist the Supreme Court in reaching its full membership.

“On July 2023, the Judicial Council advised me in accordance with my duty under article 144(2) of the constitution and in consultation with the council of State submit the names of the nominees attached with their curriculum vitae seeking the approval of Parliament,” excerpts of the President’s letter read.

Meanwhile, there have been calls for an upper limit to the number of justices of the apex court.

In 2020, the then-Supreme Court judge nominee, Clemence Honyenuga added his voice to the call. He said the cap should, however, be high enough to afford the Chief Justice the chance to empanel justices without much sweat.

Answering questions from the House Appointments Committee, Honyenuga said the number can be capped at 17.

This, he said, would create a large pool of justices who would be available to be empaneled on cases even if more than one or two judges have recused themselves from a case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *